Adaikkalapathu: Pasuram 6


Therazhundur Swami Desikan1


Here, Swami Deikan refers to the four kinds of Prapatthi: Svanishtai, Ukthi nishtai, Achaarya nishtai and Bhaagavatha nishtai. Swami says that he has performed prapatthi at the lotus feet of Varadhan, who grants the boon of Moksham to one, who has performed any one of the four kinds of Prapatthi.


The four kinds of prapatthi are :
1. Sva-nishtai: Direct self surrender to the Lord withthe clear knowledge of Prapatthi as angi and its coresponding angams.This is now rare. Great ones like Swamy Nammaazhwaar and Swamy Desikan might have practised it.
2. Ukthi Nishtai: Those without special knowledge about the angams of Prapatthi like Anukoolya sankalpam recognize their ananya gathithvam (not having recourse to any one as their protector and pray to the Lord with mahaa Viswaasam in Him as their Rakshakan. They repeat the Prapathti Vaakyams uttered by their Achaaryans and realize poorNa prapatthi. This is the tradition of Ahobila Matam Achaaryaas.
3. Achaarya Nishtai: Those who stay within the fold of Achaaryaa’s saraNaagathy to the Lord. The Achaaryan prays to the Lord for the acceptance of the surrender of the Jeevan. This is the tradition followed at Srimath Andavan Asramams.
4. Bhaagavatha Nishtai: Here, one stays within the SaraNaagathy performed a PoorNaadhikaari dear to the Lord (Bhagavathar other than one’s Achaaryan).

Courtesy: Sri Oppiliappan Koil Sri Varadachari Sadagopan

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here