Sri Parthasarathy Temple, Tiruvallikeni (Triplicane, Chennai)



The Parthasarathy Temple is an 8th century Hindu Vaishnavite temple dedicated to Lord Krishna, located at Triplicane, Chennai. It is one among the 108 divyadesams or holy abodes of Lord Vishnu. Lord Krishna is worshipped in the name ‘Parthasarathy’ in this temple, which means in Sanskrit, ‘charioteer of Arjuna’.

It was originally built by the Pallavas in the 8th century by king Narasimhavarman I. One of the distinguishing features of is that it has four of the incarnations or avatars of Vishnu: Narasimha, Rama, Varaha and Krishna.

There are shrines for Sri Vedhavalli Thayaar, Sri Ranganatha, Sri Rama, Sri Gajendra Varadharaja Swamy, Narasimha, Sri Andal, Sri Anjaneya, Alwars, Ramanuja, Swami Manavala Mamunigal and Vedanthachariar. There are separate entrances for Lord Parthasarathy and Lord Narasimha.

Sthala Puranam

A king by name Sumathi, showered his love toward the Lord Balaji of Thirumala. But he wished to worship Lord Balaji as Lord Krishna. For the sake of him, Balaji Appeared in front of the king as Lord Krishna, at this place in the pose which he stood in the Mahabharatha war. Lord Krishna was the charioteer for Arjuna during the Mahabharata war when he gave the Hindu holy book of Bhagavad Gita. Hence, the God, Sri Parthasarathy’s face is full of scars created by the arrows of the Great Bhishma in the Kurukshetra war. Other interesting thing is that, God Krishna is seen with a moustache and without his weapon Chakra. The reason attributed is that he promised not to take weapons in the Mahabharatha war and hence he has only his conch. As He was the charioteer He sported the moustache keeping with the tradition. The Utsavar also has only a stick and not his mace as found with others. This is because the Lord was born in a cowherd clan.

The great seven Munis (Saptha Rishis) – Brighu, Atthiri, Mareeshi, Markandeyar, Sumathi, Jaabali and Saptharomar performed Tapas (thavam) here and as a result of this, the sthalam is also called as “Brindaranyasthalam”. This sthalam is also known as “Panja Veerathalam”.

Among the 12 alwars three of them namely Peyalwar, Thirumazhisai alwar and Thirumangaialwar have sung on the different forms of God in this temple. The temple and the area Tiruallikkeni derives the name from the Holy tank. It is said Goddess Mahalakshmi herself was born here as Vedavalli to Sage Bhrigu. Lily flowers bloomed in this tank. This tank consistes of five sacred wells, and so it is said that its waters are holier than the Ganges.

Eastern side Rajagopuram and other structures are said to have built by Thondaman Chakravarthi, who ruled this parts from Kalahasthi. The Mahamandapam and the Mandapam in front of Sri Parthasarathy Swamy called Thiruvoimozhi Prabandha Mandapam, show pre Pallava architecture, indicating that the mandapams are later annextures to original shrine. Except Sri Parthasarathy Swamy Shrine, other shrines have been renovated in the beginning of the century and the shrine of Sri Vedavalli Thayar and the 36 pillared mandapam in front of the temple were build in the later part of the last Century.

A view of the gopurams of the Parthasarathy temple Thulabharam is provided in front of Ticket counter for worshipping public. Annadhanam Scheme is conducted daily for worshipping public.

The temple has grand brahmotsavams for Sri Parthasarathy swami during the Tamil month of chittirai(April-may),on the same month Udayavar uthsavam is also celebrated in special manner.In the month of vaigasi,Sri Varadarajar uthsavam, Sri Nammalwar uthsavam(vaigasi-visagam) and vasanthothsavam are celebrated. Sri Azhagiyasingar during the Tamil month of aani (June-July).There are also grand utsavams for Sri Ramanuja(April-may) and Sri Manavalamamunigal(oct-nov) besides utsavams for Alwar and acharyas. Vaikunta Ekadesi and during the Tamil month of Margazhi draws lot of pilgrims.

Seven Shrines in one Temple

1. Venkata Krishnan

The Moolavar of this sthalam is Venkata Krishnan. Along with Rukmani Piratiyar, he holds sword in one hand, Varadha Muthirai on the other hand and his brother Balaraman on his right, Sathaviki on his left, son Prathyumnan, Grand son Aniruthan are also found near the Moolavar. This is one of the Sthalam where the Perumal shows his seva along with his three generations. He is found in standing (Nindra thirukkolam) position and facing his Thirumugham towards East direction.

Moolavar : Venkatakrishnan with Rukmini Nindra Thirukolam – Facing east
Uthsavar : Parthasarathy

2. Lord Narasimha Swamy / Thellia Singhar

There is separate entrance and flag post ( Dwajasthambam) for Lord Narasimha Swamy. Moolavar is in Veetrirundha “Yoga” thirukola, Utsavar Thellia Singhar with Acwana hastham (Azhithu saranalikkum thirukkolam).

Moolavar : Yoga Narasimhar Vetrirundha Thirukolam – Facing west
Utsavar : Thellia singar

3. Sri Ranganathar

We can have Dharshan of Sri Ranganatha Swamy while we pass in the queue to get dharshan of Sri Venkata Krishnan. Not all but some who are basically from Thiruvalli keni would know that Sri varaha swamy and Narasimha swamy are seated and giving dharshan along with Sri Ranganatha Swamy Sannithi.

Moolavar : Ranganathan – Bhujanga sayanam – Facing east

4. Vedhavalli Thayar

We can have Dharshan of Sri Vedhavalli thayar in her separate Sannithi on the right, when you come out of Sri Venkata krishanan sannithi. Thayar ithalathilum thani utsavangalum nakshathirua purappadum kandu magizndhu nammai magizvikkindral. Every Friday evening Vedhavalli thayar will have separate purappadu inside temple along with Madal Goshti.

5. Kodhandaraman

While we pass the queue to have dharshan of Sri venkatakrishnan, on the right after crossing the Manikkadhavu we can have dharshan of Sri Kodhandaraman along with Sri Seetha Devi, Sri Lakshmanan & Hanumar (as well opposite to his Sannithi).


Moolavar : Kodhandaraman – Nindra Thirukolam – Facing south

6. Gajendra Varadahar

Once done with Dharshan of Sri Vedhavalli thayar while stepping down on the left of Sannithi we can have dharshan of Sri gajendra varadharaja Swami, Sitting on Garuda bahavan in a ready to fly position to help jeevathama.

Moolavar : Varadharajan – Garuda vahanan – Facing east
Varadharaja Perumal in Nithya Garuda sevai.

7. Sri Andal

On the right side to Sri Narasimha Swamy sannithy is sri Andal Sannithi, Sri Andal ithalathilum Thani utsavangal Kandu magizndhu nammai Magizvikkindral. Thennacharya Sri Vaishnava Azhwar Acharyargalum ithalathillum Thani Sannidhi galai kondu ezhundharuli irukindranar.

Theertham : Kairavini saras (Allikeni)
Vimanam : Anandha Vimanam, Pranava Vimanam, Pushpaga Vimanam, Sesha Vimanam & Daiviga Vimanam
Prathyaksham : Rukminiprati, Thondaiman, Sumathirajan, Arjunan, Bhrugumaharishi, Markandeyar, Madhuman Maharishi, Saptharoma, Athrimaharishi, Jajalimaharishi, Anirudhdhan, Pradhyumnan & Balaraman.
Mangalasasanam : Thirumangai Alwar, Peiyazhalwar & Thirumazhisai alwar (12 pasurams)

Location: The Temple is very near to the Marina Beach. The temple is situated about four kms form the Chennai Central and Chennai Egmore Railway Stations. The Temple can be reached by the Mass Rapid Transit System of Railways and the Tiruvallikeni MRTS Station is few metres away from the Temple. The temple is 25 km from the Meenambakkam Airport.

Contact Address:
The Deputy Commissioner / Executive Officer,
Arulmighu Parthasarathyswamy Temple,
Triplicane, Chennai – 600 005.
Phone: +91-44-28442449 / 28442462.
Fax: +91-44-28447042

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


  1. we wish to offer- thaluga-(half) on 27th april 2013 at 6.00 pm ,on the occassion of our son’s marriage on 2nd may 2013.please mension whether we can book online as we are staying at pune(maharashtra state)and will be comming to chennai for marriage programmee on 17-04-2013),
    chandrasekharan-mobile no.09226419822


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here